Why does the rain in spain fall mainly on the plain?

The sentence 'the rain in Spain stays mainly in the plain' was conceived, because people were irritated by the people speaking with a Cockney accent (Cockney is a neighbourhood in London, England). If you say this sentence repeatedly, many times, they say your accent will go away.