How do you bruise ginger?

How to bruise: Smash an unpeeled piece with the flat side of a chef's knife until slightly broken (bruising releases more juice and flavor). How to coin: Thinly slice with a knife or mandoline. (If you plan to remove the ginger from the dish before serving, you do not need to peel.