Why do gorillas pounder chest?

Scientists believe gorillas use these chest beats as a nonvocal communication to both attract females and intimidate potential rivals. With both acoustic and visual elements, this long-distance signal is most commonly performed by adult males (silverbacks) and can be heard more than 1 kilometer away