Why do we tell actors to break her leg?

Based on a theatrical superstition that it’s ‘bad luck’ to wish someone ‘good luck’ many instead say ‘Break a leg’. The origins of the phrase has a few theories. One being that you bend your knee or ‘break your leg’ when you bow or curtsie while accepting applause at the end of a good performance.