What's the difference between a christmas carol and a christmas song?

a carol is a festive song, generally religious in nature but not necessarily connected with Christian church worship, and sometimes accompanied by a dance. A caroller is someone who sings carols. A Christmas song is just a song about Christmas and is generally secular in nature.