What's the difference between a cathedral and a basilica?

Cathedral comes from the Latin cathedra which means the seat of the bishop. Thus, there is a throne of the bishop in a cathedral, which happens to be an important church in the diocese. Basilica is a Roman Catholic Church that has been so designated by the Pope.