How long did it take michelangelo to paint the sixteenth chapel?

four years. Michelangelo's work on the Sistine Chapel ceiling took four years. He finished in 1512. Of all the scenes painted on the ceiling, the most famous is The Creation of Adam, which depicts the creation story from the Bible.