What is a zombie pigman?

Zombie Pigmen are a neutral mob that spawns when a pig is hit by lightning and in the Nether. They are only hostile when they or one of their group (within 16 blocks) is attacked. Then, it can be hard to avoid them while jumping over lakes of lava and avoiding other types of hostile creatures.