Who founded newfoundland?

According to Wikipedia, Newfoundland, while inhabited by indigenous peoples for millennia, the island's first visitors were Vikings, ~1000AD. In 1497 European explorers and fishermen stayed seasonally, colonization continued from 1630-1830. Invited to be part of Canada in 1869, they joined in 1949.