What's the origin of shepherd's pie?

The British liked beef and the Irish loved potatoes so they combined them to make a hearty dish with origins in the United Kingdom and Ireland, it's composed of ground meat cooked in gravy, onions, carrots, celery, and a mashed potato crust (can be top and bottom, or just top).