Is z. e. a. word?

Yes, from merriam-webster, capitalized : a genus of large grasses having broad ribbon-shaped leaves and monoecious flowers of which the staminate forms an ample terminal panicle and the pistillate is in a sessile axillary spike enveloped by numerous bracts.

---

"Ze," spelled Z-E, is sometimes used as a gender-neutral pronoun in place of "he" or "she." Even though it's been coined relatively recently and is not in widespread use, most conventional dictionaries do recognize it as a legitimate English word.