How do you know if a mango is ready to eat?

To determine if a mango is ripe apply firm but gentle pressure to the fruit. If it gives slightly when squeezed it is ripe and ready to eat. A mango will also emit a slightly sweet and fragrant aroma from their stem end as it becomes more ripe. As mangos ripen they turn yellow, orange red and purple