Why are bubbles always round?

Bubbles are round — spherical — because there is an attractive force called surface tension that pulls molecules of water into the tightest possible groupings. In a bubble, the inward surface-tension forces of the water film are exactly balanced by the outward-pushing pressure of the air inside.