What's the sonic mean?

The adjective sonic means related to audible sound or to the speed of sound waves. ... The adjective sonic was coined in the 1920s, from the Latin sonus, or "sound." Ever since, it's been used not only to describe things relating to sound, but also things that travel as fast as sound.