Why do tomatoes turn red?

Tomatoes are triggered to turn red by a chemical called ethylene. Ethylene is odorless, tasteless, and invisible to the naked eye. When the tomato reaches the proper green mature stage, it starts to produce ethylene. The ethylene then interacts with the tomato fruit to start the ripening process.