What's the origin of a pug?

Pugs are one of the oldest breeds of dog, dating back to China's Han Dynasty (between 206 B.C. and 220 A.D.). They were bred as companion dogs for royalty. Today they maintain their role as a companion dog, always near their person, they strive to make people happy with their silly antics.