When was the philippines discovered?

The Philippines were claimed in the name of Spain in 1521 by Ferdinand Magellan. The history of the Philippines is believed to have begun with the arrival of the first humans using rafts or boats at least 67,000 years ago as the 2007 discovery of Callao Man suggested.