How is wasabi made?

Genuine wasabi is a preparation of the root of the herbaceous wasabi plant. It may be freshly grated or dried to a powder and then reconstituted with water. Most wasabi available outside of Japan is actually made of horseradish, mustard, starch, and green food coloring or spinach powder.

---

Wasabi is a popular condiment in Japanese cuisine made from the rhizome or stem of the Wasabia japonica plant. The rhizome is washed, peeled, grated, and mixed with a small amount of water to make a paste with a strong and spicy flavor.