How do you substitute fresh thyme for dried thyme?

To substitute fresh thyme for dried thyme use 3 teaspoons of fresh thyme for every teaspoon of dried thyme. The 3:1 ratio is a good rule of thumb when substituting fresh herbs for dried herbs. Use 1/3 the amount of dried herb when substituting for the fresh herb called for in the recipe.