How long has tv been around for?

The first electronic television was demonstrated in San Francisco on September 7th, 1927. Commercial television started in the mid-1940s with the number of television sets in use rising from 6,000 in 1946 to over 12 million by 1951. By 1955, over half the homes in the country had televisions.