Why are blue jays blue?

The blue appearance of many bluebirds is due to refraction a light scattering phenomenon. The Barb structure of Bluejay feathers is such that, when the light hits them the blue light is refracted while the other wavelength of visible light are absorbed by the melanin, making them look blue