How long should you leave coconut oil in your hair?

15 to 30 minutes Smooth coconut oil onto hair and comb it through dry hair. Leave it on for at 15 to 30 minutes to let it absorb. Thoroughly wash hair with a great shampoo (you may need to shampoo twice to remove all of the oil) and conditioning as usual.