Why do they call it a tennis bracelet?

This piece of jewellery owes its name to a famous incident at the 1987 US Open tournament. Tennis pro Chris Evert served a ball so briskly that her diamond bracelet flew off. Because of that, the officials had to stop the match and help her find the bracelet, before the game could continue!