Why did charles marry diana?

Prince Charles was acquainted with the Spencer family and so knew of Diana. He was being pressured by his family to marry and produce an heir and Diana was deemed a suitable match being virginal and from a noble family. He was attracted to her but admitted after that he wasn't truly in love.