What's the difference between rain and showers?

Showers imply the weather will change a lot during the day with rain on and off, whereas rain will bring continuous wet weather for hours at a time, and then it will clear.

---

Rain and showers are both types of precipitation, but the main difference between them is the size of the droplets of water that make up each type of precipitation. Rain is made up of larger droplets of water, while showers are made up of smaller droplets of water, falling in a short period of time.