Why is fine china called fine china?

Porcelain is referred to as china or fine china in some English-speaking countries, as it was first seen in imports from China.

---

The name China comes from the Sanscrit term used to describe the Qin Dynasty in China in the second century b.c. The Persians who traded along the Silk Road originally used the term.