How do you hard boil eggs?

Place eggs in a pot with enough cold water to cover them by at least 3 centimetres. Cook on burner set on high. Once water comes to a rolling boil, cover pot and remove from hot burner. Let eggs sit for 20 minutes in hot water, covered, then 20 minutes in cold water.