Why doesn't honey spoil?

Natural, properly preserved honey will not expire. ... Because of the sugar content and low pH of honey, as well as the bees' honey-making process, organisms that can spoil food won't survive in honey. But honey has to be natural and sealed properly to enjoy its long lifespan.