Who invented the ice cream sandwich?

The mass produced ice cream sandwich we know today was invented in 1945 by Jerry Newberg when he was selling ice cream at Forbes Field, in Pittsburgh, PA. The roots of the Ice cream sandwich however were those made by hand and distributed by New York street vendors in the early 1940s.