Are coconuts nuts?

Despite having the word “nut” in its name, a coconut is a fruit, not a nut. In fact, a coconut falls under a subcategory known as drupes and is defined as fruits that have an inner flesh and seed surrounded by a hard shell. Including a variety of fruits, such as peaches, pears, walnuts, and almonds