How do you cut a cactus pear?

– Use paring knife to cut about ½ inch off of each end. – Make a slit with the knife, vertically, through the skin — about ¼ inch deep. – Use the tip of the knife to lift the skin away from the slit. – Gently pull the skin off the cactus pear