How many cat breeds are there?

58.

---

While Encyclopedia Britannica only lists fifteen cat breeds, The International Cat Association, the world's largest genetic registry of pedigreed cats, recognizes seventy-three different kinds. Many other well-recognized registries and associations tend to fall between those two numbers.