When was ginger ale invented?

Thomas Cantrell, an Irish apothecary, created the first ginger ale in Belfast, Northern Ireland in the 1850s. This was the golden style fermented ginger ale, dark colored, with strong flavor. Dry ginger ale was created by Canadian John McLaughlin, a chemist who added ginger flavor to water in 1904.