What is an alpine tree?

Alpine plants are plants that grow in an alpine climate, occurs at high elevation and above the tree line. Alpine trees adapt to the harsh weather of the alpine environment, which include low temperatures, dryness, ultraviolet radiation, wind, drought, poor nutritional soil, a short growing season.