What happened to pompeii?

Pompeii was a city in ancient Rome that was destroyed by lava from a volcano called Mount Vesuvius.

---

Pompeii was a Roman resort town that was buried by 15 to 20 feet of volcanic ash during an eruption of Mt Vesuvius in 79 AD. The town also was swept by a pyroclastic flow of 200 C temperature. Today the excavated town is a world heritage site and major tourist attraction.