Why do cats whine?

Cats vocalize to get our attention, and whining is often done when cats are stressed or frustrated. These feelings can come about as the result of a variety of triggers, including hunger, boredom, or loneliness, which can usually be identified fairly easily

---

Cats whine for a variety of reasons. There are a variety of triggers, including hunger, boredom, or loneliness, which can usually be identified fairly easily. Other reasons include pain, illness, old age, stress due to changes in the home or routine, or even just to get our attention.