What is a war rhino?

A war rhino is a rhinoceros used for military purposes. Whether rhinos were ever mounted and used in battle or for other war functions is unsubstantiated and unlikely. Much of the speculation comes from Albrecht Dürer's famous 1515 woodcut of a rhino in armor and various other literary references.