How do you tell the difference between a male and female shark?

Males are smaller and have claspers, females are usually bigger and do not have claspers.

---

Male sharks tend to be smaller than females. But the easiest way to tell them apart is to look for claspers. Males have a pair of claspers, which are used for mating. This is like a pair of extra roll-up fins under their body.