What's the past tense of shine?

When shine is used in the sense of "to give light," its past tense is "shone," spelled as s, h, o, n, e. It can be used in a sentence such as "The moon shone brightly on the young lovers." If the word means "to cause to shine," its past tense is "shined," as in "Mary shined the silver."