What does the channel in enchantment do in minecraft?

Channeling summons a lightning bolt when a mob is hit by a thrown trident if there is currently a thunderstorm occurring. The mob must be exposed to the open sky for the enchantment to work. You can add the Channeling enchantment to any trident using an enchanting table, anvil, or game command.