What is a. and w. stand for?

In 1922 Allen partnered with former Lodi employee Frank Wright and leased their first two Root Beer stands to other operators so they could expand into the larger city of Sacramento. This was around the same time the partners coined the new name A&W, “A” for Allen and “W” for Wright