How do you get windburn?

It happens when your skin loses its natural oils from extreme cold, dry air. According to the Skin Cancer Foundation, the wind itself can reduce the amount of natural protection your skin has against UV rays. In turn, you may be more susceptible to the sun on a cold, windy day