Why do babies crawl backwards?

Babies typically begin to crawl around 8-10 months of age, and the way they crawl can vary. Some babies crawl forward, while others may crawl backwards or even move in a circular pattern. Crawling backwards, also known as "reverse crawling" is a normal developmental milestone for infants.