What does it mean to defend a police department?

“De-funding the police.” requires city councils across the country to discuss police reform and reallocating budgets. Some municipalities plan to cut police funds, while others have voted to maintain them. Reallocating budgets can mean using money for other services e.g. psychological interventions.