What is an upper g. i. series?

An upper gastrointestinal series UGI is an X-ray of the upper gastrointestinal (GI) tract. The esophagus, stomach, and duodenum are seen on X-ray film by using barium or a water-soluble contrast. If only the pharynx and esophagus are examined with barium, the procedure is called a barium swallow.