What are the odds of dying in a plane crash?

The odds of dying in a plane crash are 1 in 9,821 including small planes, compared to 1 in 654 odds of dying in a car crash. If you are flying in a commercial jet, there is only a one-in-5.3 million chance of a flight being involved in a fatal crash.