How did babe ruth get famous?

George Herman Ruth first made his name as a left-handed pitcher for the Boston Red Sox. But what made him really famous was his work for the New York Yankees as a batter. ... Ruth was widely acknowledged to be an excellent baseball player, both in terms of his pitching and his hitting.