Why are kiwis fuzzy?

The short explanation for why kiwifruits are fuzzy is that they are covered with trichomes: hair-like extensions arising from the cell walls of the epidermis whose structure can vary widely. The trichomes covering kiwifruit are multicellular, and generally come in short and long varieties