How long can a alligator hold his breath underwater?

An alligator can easily stay under water 20 to 30 minutes and they can stay under from 1 hour to 24 hours if necessary and conditions are right. They prepare slowly to stay underwater for those long period by slowing their heart beat, temperature, etc.