What is a mandela?

A mandala is a symbol of the universe for many Buddhists and Hindus. Most mandalas have colorful, detailed geometric patterns or designs. Mandalas are a type of religious and spiritual art with a deep significance for many people. ... The word mandala itself simply means "circle" in Sanskrit.